A snapshot freezes the current state of the data area. When you create a snapshot, you can continue to work with the data as normal and later revert to the state of the data area when the snapshot was made.
You can use the Database Manager GUI to create, use and delete snapshots.
A snapshot is not a data backup. To be able to restore your data after a system breakdown, you have to perform regular data and log backups.
The database instance is in the ADMIN operational state.
1. You create a snapshot.
2. You continue to work with the data as normal.
3. You decide between the following two options:
0 Revert to the snapshot (reject all the changes since the snapshot was made)
0 Delete the snapshot (permanently accept all the changes since the snapshot was made)
Concepts of the Database System, Freezing the Data Area (Snapshot)