Activating and Deactivating Replication Units

Use

For the Synchronization Manager to log the changes in the tables of a replication unit, you have to activate the replication unit. Logging these changes is a prerequisite for the tables of multiple instances to be synchronized.

Prerequisites

·        You have defined replication units.

·        You have logged on to the message server with the Synchronization Manager GUI.

·        You have logged on to the master instance with the Synchronization Manager GUI; see Logging On To a Database Instance.

·        You have started the MaxDB X Server.

Activating Replication Units

...

       1.      You are on the Replication Units tab page.

Select the replication unit to be activated.

Select one of the following commands:

Command

Description

Replication Units ® Activate Master Unit

Activates master replication unit

Replication Units ® Activate Client Unit

Activates client replication unit

Replication Units ® Activate All Units

Activates all replication units

       2.      If necessary, enter the password of the synchronization user of the respective database instance.

The Synchronization Manager creates shadow tables and other database objects for the synchronization in the involved database instances. These database objects are assigned to the SYNCHRONIZATIONSSERVICE schema.

You may not change or delete these database objects.

If the Synchronization Manager GUI is not able to establish a connection to the message server, it issues an error message stating this. If this occurs, ensure that you have started the message server and that it is connected. Then execute the following command: Replication Units ® Initialize Message Server

The next step is to initialize the client tables.

Deactivating Replication Units

...

       1.      You are on the Replication Units tab page.

       2.      Select the replication unit to be deactivated.

Select one of the following commands:

Command

Description

Replication Units ® Deactivate Master Unit

Deactivates master replication unit

Replication Units ® Deactivate Client Unit

Deactivates client replication unit

Replication Units ® Deactivate All Units

Deactivates all replication units