Logical name for the archive file used for platform-independent data storage.
You must have maintained the logical file name using transaction FILE (Logical File Path Definition).
Archive File Size
If one of the following parameters is exceeded during writing of an archive file, the system automatically closes that archive file and opens a new archive file.
The maximum size of an archive file is 2048 MB.
Settings for Delete Program
To maintain variants for the delete program, choose Variant. These definitions must be created for each client. However, the names of the variants are cross-client.
For more information about creating variants, see
The delete jobs are not automatically scheduled.
The delete jobs are started automatically by the write program immediately after an archive file is finished. The order of deleting and storing can be set as described below.
The delete jobs are started by events. The name of the event must be entered in the Event field. If the event requires a parameter be set, enter the parameter in the Parameter field.
Controls whether the archived data objects are to be added to the ADK index.
The Build Index indicator is only displayed if the indicator is set in transaction AOBJ (Definition of Archiving Objects).
Settings for Postprocessing Program
If you have selected an archiving object that uses a postprocessing program, you can maintain the following parameters:
Use this to enter a production mode variant of the postprocessing program.
To maintain the production mode variants, choose the Variant pushbutton.
Controls whether the postprocessing program is automatically called after the delete phase is finished.
The postprocessing program only starts when the last delete program of the archiving session has completed and no archive file has the status Write Completed, Write Running, or Delete Running.
Data Storage in Storage System
If a storage system is connected to your system and you want to store files in a storage system, you can set the following:
Name of the Content Repository
Controls whether an archive file is automatically stored in the Content Repository.
The point in time at which the files are moved to the Content Repository is determined by how the archive files are processed after they are created:
The archive files are moved to the Content Repository after the delete program has processed the file in production mode. If the delete program is running in test mode, the archive files are not automatically stored after the delete program has finished.
The archive files are moved to the Content Repository after the write program has written the archive file and before the delete program starts. This means the delete program cannot process the files until they are successfully stored.
The Delete Prg Reads from Storage System indicator specifies whether the delete program reads the data to be deleted from the storage system or the file system.
If the delete program option Start automatic. is selected, the delete program is called after file storage is completed. In this case, it makes no difference whether the delete program is running in test mode or production mode. Similarly, if the After Event option is selected, the delete jobs are scheduled and automatically started after the specified event occurs.