Notification Type


Key that specifies the origin, informational content, and other attributes of a notification. In the standard system, a notification type is assigned various notification origins, which in turn are grouped together in a notification category.

The standard system supports the following notifications (examples):

Notification Type

Notification Origin

Notification Category

M1 - Maintenance request

01 - Maintenance request

Maintenance notification

M2 - Malfunction report

02 - Malfunction report

M3 - Activity report

03 - Activity report

S1 - Problem notification

04 - Problem notification

Service notification

S2 - Service request

05 - Activity report (Service)

S3 - Activity report

06 - General notification (Service)

Q1 - Customer complaint

Q1 - Customer complaint

Quality notification

Q2 - Complaint against vendor

Q2 - Complaint against vendor

Q3 - Internal problem notification

Q3 - Internal problem notification

$$ - Feedback notification

R3 - Feedback notification

C1 - Claim (internal)

C1 - Internal claim


C2 - Claim (external)

C2 - External claim

G0 - General notification

G0 - General notification

General notification

In addition to the notification types listed above, the standard system may also contain other notification types.


When you create a notification in the system, you choose a notification type that suits the subject matter of the notification from a business standpoint. You can either use the notification type that was predefined in Customizing or in the user default values (default notification type), or you can select another notification type.

You can also define your own notification types in Customizing. When you create a new notification type, you must assign a notification origin predefined in Customizing to this notification type. On the basis of this assignment, the system automatically determines the notification category.

You cannot define notification origins or notification categories in Customizing.