Functions in the Split Screen Editor

Displaying the Source and Target Texts

If you want to see how the source text or target text is displayed when accessed from an application, choose Translation ® Source Text/Target Text ® Display. The setting entered under Help ® Settings ® F1 Help determines whether the performance assistant or a modal dialog box is displayed. You see the text the way the end user will see it. Terms with glossary indexing or links are highlighted in a different color. You can click highlighted texts to check that all references function correctly and that your translation matches the referenced text.

You can also execute this function by clicking the  icon. The cursor position determines whether the source text or target text is displayed.

Checking

The Check function enables you to check the target text for syntax errors, such as incomplete or faulty glossary links. Choose Translation ® Check or click the  icon. If a syntax error is discovered, a dialog box appears containing the type of error, and the number of the line in which the error occurs. To correct the error, choose the error message or the  icon. You return to the split screen editor, in which the line containing the error is highlighted in red. If several errors are discovered, repeat this procedure.

Text Compare

You can compare a changed source text with a previous version of the source text in the system to determine how the text has changed since it was last translated. To do so, choose the  icon. The system compares the version numbers and then displays the source text again. All changed, deleted, and new lines are highlighted. The Next Unchanged and Next Difference pushbuttons enable you to navigate the list, and the Settings and All/Differences pushbuttons enable you to determine how the list is displayed.

If the source text has changed since it was last translated, a message informs you of this fact when you access the long text object. The system determines that a source text has changed by comparing the version number of the source text with the version number of the target text. It is therefore possible for a long text object to be flagged as modified even though the target text does not need changing. This situation can arise if, for example, the source text’s new version number is triggered by a purely technical change, such as a language transport.

The first time you save your new translation, the text compare function stops working. If you want to use the Text Compare function to update translations of long texts that have undergone major changes, you are advised to open a second session. In the first session, you can adapt your translation to the individual changes made in the source text. In the second session, you can display the text compare to retain an overview of all the changes made in the source text. You are also advised to print the text compare.

Inserting and Deleting Text

If your translation is longer or shorter than the source text, too few or too many lines could be displayed in the long text editor. This is often the case when you need to edit existing translations.

To insert or delete lines in the target text, choose the  and  pushbuttons in the application toolbar. To delete the entire target text, click the  icon. You can also execute the delete functions by choosing Edit ® Delete Target Text ® Delete Line/Delete Target Text.

Undoing

You can use this function to undo your changes. The system restores the text to the status it had when it was last saved, which means that all the changes you have made since you last saved are undone. Choose Edit ® Undo or click the  icon. The system undoes all of the changes you have made since you last saved.

Copying the Source Text

You can copy the source text to the target text section of the split screen editor. When the source text is copied, all formatting and glossary links, etc. are copied too. This means you do not have to maintain them manually in your translations, which reduces the chances of errors occurring. To copy the source text as the target text, choose Edit ® Copy Source Text or click the  icon.

Saving Actively

After you have finished your translation, you must release it by saving it as an active version. To do this, choose Translation ® Save Active or click the  icon.

For more information, see Saving Long Texts as a Raw/Active Version.

Fullscreen Editor

This pushbutton enables you to access the fullscreen editor.

For more information, see Functions in the Fullscreen Editor.

More/Less Source Text Lines

These two icons ( More source text lines and  Less source text lines) are displayed above the input area for your translation. They enable you to determine the number of source text lines that are displayed. You can also enter this value in your settings.

Scroll Bars

In the split screen editor, scroll bars are available for both the source and target texts on the right side of the screen.