Saving Long Texts as a Raw/Active Version

Use

When a translated object is saved in SE63, its status is set automatically to translated. Texts translated in the long text editor can contain a large number of lines to be translated, which means this function could result in a long text object having the status translated even though half the text has not been translated yet.

To avoid this situation, the long text editor makes a distinction between simply saving a long text translation, and saving a long text translation as an active version.

·        If you simply save a translation, it is saved as a raw version. The long text object does not have the status translated. The long text object therefore remains in the worklist.

·        The status translated is not set until you save your translation as an active version. The long text object can then be transported and translated into third languages. Long texts can only be released from a worklist if they have been saved as an active version.

Prerequisites

You must keep saving the translation of your long text object as a raw version until the following criteria have been satisfied:

·        You have translated the entire long text.

·        You have checked that the long text no longer contains any of the source text.

·        You have checked the references contained in the object, and ensured that they function correctly.

·        You have performed a syntax check, and ensured that the long text does not contain any syntax errors.

Features

If you save a text as a raw version (using the ordinary Save function), the following warning is displayed in blue directly above the target text: “Target text in raw version”.

Furthermore, the Status field included in the technical information for the target text is set to "R". To show the technical information, you must define your long text editor settings accordingly .

All lines are subsequently displayed as new (red) in the worklist and statistics, even if they were displayed as modified before. For example, you need to translate a long text object consisting of ten lines, three of which are translated and two of which are modified. If you simply save this long text object, all ten lines are displayed as new.

After you have completed the translation of your long text object in accordance with the criteria listed above, you can choose Save Active to save the long text as an active version. The blue warning text disappears, and the status included in the technical information for your target text is set to "A".

If you work in the fullscreen editor and save your changes there, the text is automatically saved as a raw version. When you return to the split screen editor, you continue to see the blue warning text "Target text in raw version" and text status R until you save the translation as an active version.

If you save a text as an active version but then realize that the translation is not complete after all, you can save it as a raw version again. However, this is only possible if the text is still in your worklist.

Activities

To save a long text as a raw version, choose Translation ® Save or click the  icon.

To save a long text as an active version, choose Translation ® Save Active or click the  Save Active pushbutton.

If you exit the split screen editor without saving your changes to the long text, a dialog box appears in which you are required to choose one of the following options:

·        Save the text as an active version: choose  Save Active.

·        Save the text as a raw version: choose Save (Raw).

·        Reject the changes: choose No.

·        Cancel the activity: choose Cancel.