Creating and Maintaining Tasks

Creating tasks

  1. Choose Tools ® Business Workflow ® Development ® Definition Tools ® Tasks/Task Groups ® Create.
  2. Select the relevant task type.
  1. Select .

Changing tasks

  1. Choose Tools ® Business Workflow ® Development ® Definition Tools ® Tasks/Task Groups ® Change.
  2. Identify the task that you want to process by:
    • Selecting the type of task and entering the 8-digit task number
    • Entering the task abbreviation in the field Task (using the F4 input help if applicable)
  1. Select .

In a customer system you should not change workflows and tasks supplied by SAP directly. If the only changes you want to make to the task are to triggering events, terminating events or texts, you can extend the definition. To make this extension, open the definition in display mode and go to the relevant tab pages. If you want to make more extensive changes, copy the task or workflow.

Displaying tasks

  1. Choose Tools ® Business Workflow ® Development ® Definition Tools ® Tasks/Task Groups ® Display.
  2. Identify the task that you want to process by:
    • Selecting the type of task and entering the 8-digit task number
    • Entering the task abbreviation in the field Task (using the F4 input help if applicable)
  1. Select .

If you are not in the original system of the task, you can create additional triggering events and terminating events, as well as change the work item text and the texts on the tab page Description.

Copying tasks

  1. Choose Tools ® Business Workflow ® Development ® Definition Tools ® Tasks/Task Groups ® Copy.
  2. Identify the task that you want to process by:
    • Selecting the type of task and entering the 8-digit task number
    • Entering the task abbreviation in the field Task (using the F4 input help if applicable)
  1. Select .
  2. Enter a new abbreviation and a new name for the copy.

The abbreviation and name of the copied task only exist in the logon language of the user who copied the task. The abbreviation and name of the original task, which may already exist in other languages, are not copied. However, translations of the work item text and other texts are retained in the copying process.

Deleting tasks

  1. Choose Tools ® Business Workflow ® Development ® Definition Tools ® Tasks/Task Groups ® Delete.
  2. Identify the task that you want to process by:
    • Selecting the type of task and entering the 8-digit task number
    • Entering the task abbreviation in the field Task (using the F4 input help if applicable)
  1. Select .

The system checks whether there are still work items for the task to be deleted. If this is the case, you cannot delete the task. To delete the task anyway, you must remove the work items from the system. For further information, refer to Archiving Work Items.

Result

If you have deleted or copied a task, you remain on the same screen. Otherwise you go to the screen for displaying or processing the selected task. For further information, refer to the relevant task type: