In both the process overview and the instance view, you will find the link Settings. Selecting this link displays the tab pages General, Details and Error Messages, which contain detailed information and administrative settings. The tab page Details contains configuration options for resource administration and reorganization, a switch for activating and deactivating logging, and orientation values for the process.
To be able to change administrative data on this tab page, you must have assigned to you an adjusted copy of the role SAP_BC_BASIS_ADMIN. For more information, see the section Authorizations for Process Monitoring.
· At the top of the tab page you can activate or deactivate logging. You can find the logs in the application log.
Even if logging is deactivated, you can always display messages for the self-monitoring of Process Monitoring by way of the tab page ‘Error Messages’. Unlike logging, only errors are listed here, no other messages. The data comes from the CCMS. You can find technical details in the corresponding CCMS monitor.
· Under Resource Administration you can specify how many resources you want to make available for PMI:
Ў You can select an RFC server group. The default is set for PMI to run on all servers.
Ў You can also specify, as a percentage, how many dialog processes of the servers in the specified server group are to be used for PMI. The default value is 25%.
· Under Orientation values for the process, you can insert estimated values for the number of process instances, average duration and maximum duration. Up to now, simple default values were set. Process Monitoring takes these orientation values into account to optimize its internal settings (such as package size for the data transport into the central system).
· Under Settings for the reorganization, you can specify the minimum storage duration for successful and open processes and processes with errors. In this way, the instances are given an ’expiry date’ and are deleted after this period has passed. However, the data is also aggregated (cumulated) and written into extra tables. This cumulated data is still taken into account on the initial user interface under the statistical data, but not in the list of individual instances. This explains why the aggregated data in the statistics sometimes displays more instances than the instance list, which only displays instances that have not yet been deleted.
· Choosing the pushbutton Save not only saves information, it also stops all jobs that are running and starts them again with optimized values.
· Choosing the pushbutton Close window not only closes the window, it also unlocks the data at the same time. If this mechanism was not in place, multiple users would be able to edit the data simultaneously. For this reason, you must always close the window using this pushbutton.
If the window is not closed by way of the pushbutton Close window, the lock remains in place. You must then delete the lock manually by using lock table SSPIPADET in transaction SM12.