When you initialize a database instance, the database system deletes all data (application data and the database catalog) and all log entries from the volumes. The configuration of the database instance (database parameters, volume definitions and so on) is retained, however.

See also:

Database Manager GUI,

Initializing an Existing Database Instance

Restoring After Initializing a Database Instance

Database Manager CLI,


db_activate RECOVER

Concepts of the Database System, Restoring the Database Instance