Changing Log Settings

You can use the Database Manager GUI to change log settings.

Prerequisites

Decide the level of security you need and read about the possible log settings. For more information, see Concepts of the Database System under Logging of Data Changes and Backing Up and Restoring.

You can make some log settings when creating a database instance (Creating a Database Instance: Custom).

Check the log area information regularly in the Database Manager GUI.

Procedure

...

Select the required database instance in the list of database instances. Choose Instance ® Configuration ® Log Settings.

Choose Next to start each of the required steps.

       1.      Select the log setting that you want to change:

0     Log Mode: Mirrors the log area

0     Overwrite Mode for the Log Area: Activates and deactivates the overwrite mode for the log area

0     Activating or Deactivating the Redo Log Management: Activates and deactivates redo log management

       2.      You can change multiple log settings in succession. To do so, choose Back each time you complete your change.

Mirroring the Log Area

If you want to mirror the log area (see Log Mode), select the Log Mode log setting.

The database instance can be in any operational state. Make sure, however, that you change the database instance into the OFFLINE operational state after setting the log mode, and then into the ONLINE operational state.

The Database Manager prompts you to create the required mirrors of the log volumes.

...

       1.      Choose Properties.

       2.      Specify the location of the mirror under Location.

       3.      Start the process.

After this operation has been completed, the database instance is changed to the OFFLINE operational state and then to ONLINE.

If you no longer want to use the mirror, select the Log Mode log setting and follow the instructions.

Overwrite Mode for the Log Area

If your security concept allows you to overwrite the log area without backing up the log entries first (see Overwrite Mode for the Log Area), select the log setting Overwrite Mode for the Log Area and follow the instructions.

After a standard installation, normal log backups are activated, which means that the overwrite mode is deactivated. Before you can change the overwrite mode, the database instance must be in the ADMIN or ONLINE operational state.

Once you have activated overwrite mode, it remains activated even if the database is restarted.

To change back to normal log backups (and deactivate the overwrite mode), select Overwrite Mode for the Log Area and follow the instructions. You are prompted to make a complete data backup to guarantee the integrity of your data.

Activating and Deactivating Redo Log Management

Under exceptional circumstances, you have the option of deactivating redo log management. To do this, select the log setting Activating or Deactivating the Redo Log Management (see Activating or Deactivating Redo Log Management) and follow the instructions.

Redo log management is activated after a standard installation. Before you can change this log setting, the database instance must be in the ADMIN operational state.

Once you have deactivated redo log management, it remains deactivated even if the database is restarted.

You must reactivate redo log management as soon as possible to guarantee the integrity of your database system. To do so, select Activating or Deactivating the Redo Log Management and follow the instructions. You are prompted to make a complete data backup to guarantee the integrity of your data.