archive_stage_repeat

Use

You create multiple copies of the original backup files for the log backups on different data carriers. The system then checks whether the copying was successful. You can use the options to control whether the copied files should be compared with the original files for security reasons, and whether the original files should be deleted after the copying.

You can only execute this DBM command immediately after the DBM command for creating a single copy of the backup files, and in the same Database Manager session. Exactly the same backup files are copied again as were copied onto the first data carrier using the previously executed DBM command archive_stage.

Once you specify the KEEP option in this DBM command, you can repeat it any number of times while also specifying backup templates for various backup tools.

Only if you do not specify this option are the original files deleted after the copying is performed, and information about the archived backup files is displayed for you.

The archived backup files are assigned their own external backup IDs and are entered in the backup history.

See also:

Concepts of the Database System, Archiving Backup Files

Prerequisites

?     You have the server authorization Backup.

?     You have executed the DBM command for creating a single copy of the backup files using the KEEP option, and you are still within the same Database Manager session (see: archive_stage).

?     The backup templates for the data carrier are defined for backup type LOG (see: medium_put).

Syntax

archive_stage_repeat <ext_backup_medium> [NOVERIFY] [KEEP]

Options

Option

Description

<ext_backup_medium>

Name of the backup template

NOVERIFY

The system only performs the standard checks to determine whether the backup was successful. The system displays error messages where appropriate and the output of the backup tools.

If you do not specify this option, then the system additionally compares the content of the archived files with the content of the original files (system default).

KEEP

The original files are archived but are not deleted afterwards.

If you do not specify this option, then the original files are deleted after they have been successfully archived on the data carrier (system default).

Reply

OK

Processed Stage Files   <number>

Bytes Processed         <number>

Deleted Stage Files     <number>

Remaining Stage Files   <number>

Values for the Reply Fields

Value

Description

Processed Stage Files

Processed backup files

Bytes Processed

Processed bytes

Deleted Stage Files

Deleted backup files

Remaining Stage Files

Remaining backup files

<number>

Number

Example

...

       1.      Call the Database Manager CLI in session mode, log on as DBM operator OLEG with the password MONDAY, connect to the database instance DEMODB:

>dbmcli -u OLEG,MONDAY -d DEMODB

dbmcli on DEMODB>

       2.      The backup files were created using the backup template DemoFileLog. You first want to archive them on the LOCATION_1 data carrier. The system should perform the standard checks to determine whether the backup was successful. The content of the archived files should also be compared with the content of the original files (system default). The original files should not be deleted afterwards:

dbmcli on DEMODB>archive_stage LOCATION_1 DemoFileLog KEEP

OK

Processed Stage Files 9

Bytes Processed 12845056

Deleted Stage Files 0

Remaining Stage Files 2

       3.      You then want to archive the backup files on the LOCATION_2 data carrier. Only the usual system checks are to be performed. The original files should be deleted afterwards (system default):

dbmcli on DEMODB>archive_stage_repeat LOCATION_2 NOVERIFY

OK

Processed Stage Files 9

Bytes Processed 12845056

Deleted Stage Files 9

Remaining Stage Files 0