ALTER USER GROUP Statement (alter_usergroup_statement)

The ALTER USER GROUP statement (alter_usergroup_statement) changes the properties assigned to a user group.

Syntax

<alter_usergroup_statement> ::= ALTER USERGROUP <usergroup_name> [<usergroup_mode>]
  [TIMEOUT <unsigned_integer> | TIMEOUT NULL]
  [COSTWARNING <unsigned_integer> | COSTWARNING NULL]
  [COSTLIMIT <unsigned_integer> | COSTLIMIT NULL]
  [DEFAULT ROLE ALL [EXCEPT <role_name>] | DEFAULT ROLE NONE | DEFAULT ROLE <role_name>]
  [[NOT] EXCLUSIVE]
  [DEFAULTCODE ASCII]
  [DEFAULTCODE UNICODE]
  [<connect_mode>]

<usergroup_mode> ::= RESOURCE | STANDARD
<connect_mode> ::= ENABLE CONNECT | DISABLE CONNECT

Explanation

At least one of the optional clauses must be specified.

The specified user group must be a defined user group.

The current database user must have the right of ownership for the user group for which the properties are to be changed.

The members of the specified user group must not be logged onto the database system when the ALTER USERGROUP statement is executed.

Database User Class of User Group

You use  usergroup_mode  to specify a database user class for this user group.

·        RESOURCE: specifies that the user group is to be assigned to the database user class RESOURCE.

·        STANDARD: specifies that the user group is having its current database user class withdrawn and losing the right to hold its own data. All base tables created by the user group are deleted.

·        No Database User Class: If a database user class has not been specified, the database user class of the user group remains unchanged.

NULL

If the NULL value is specified, the value defined previously is canceled.

DEFAULT ROLE

DEFAULT ROLE defines which of the roles assigned to the user group is activated automatically when a session is opened by a group member.

·        ALL: All roles assigned to the user group are activated when a session is opened. EXCEPT can be used to exclude specified roles from activation.

·        NONE: None of the roles is activated when a session is opened by a member of the user group.

·        Role name specified: The roles specified here must exist and be assigned to the user group. They are automatically activated when a session is opened for a group member.

ENABLE CONNECT, DISABLE CONNECT

You use connect_mode to define whether all members of the user group are allowed to open database sessions.

If CONNECT mode is not specified, ENABLE CONNECT is implicitly assumed. ENABLE and DISABLE cannot both be specified at the same time.

·        ENABLE CONNECT: All members of the user group can open database sessions.

·        DISABLE CONNECT: No member of the user group can open a database session. You can enable the individual members to open database sessions again using the ALTER USER statement.

TIMEOUT, COSTWARNING, COSTLIMIT, [NOT] EXCLUSIVE, DEFAULTCODE

You can find an explanation of these options in the description for the CREATE USER GROUP.