User Data

By using the transaction Display/Change Integration Data, you can, among other things, specify or change user data for the DBM operator and for the standard database user.

Use

To allow communication between various SAP systems, the standard database user and the DBM operator must be known, as the SAP system differentiates between two types of communication:

·        You must specify the DBM operator and password if you want to connect to the DBM server for database administration purposes. The storage of the DBM operator data in the SAP system can be either centralized or decentralized (Central/Decentral Authorization). SAP recommends that you store user data centrally.

·        You must specify the standard database user and password if you want to create an SQL connection to the database instance of another SAP system.

When an SAP system is installed, the DBM operator and the standard database user are stored in the system. This means that additional action is not necessary.

You must, however, check that the user data exists before starting the relevant SAP system, and correct or extend the data, if required. You can create and change the names and the passwords for the DBM operator and the standard database user using the transaction Display/Change Integration Data.

If the user data in the SAP system does not match the user data in the database instance, you must manually change the user data on the database instance, since saving the user data in the SAP system does not update the database instance data.

Procedure

       1.      In the Database Assistant, choose Edit ® Display/Change Integration Data (transaction DB11).

       2.      Enter the name of the database connection.

       3.      To be able to change integration information, you must be in change mode. Switch to this mode, if necessary.

       4.      Check the information about the database connection (database name and database server) for completeness and accuracy.

       5.      Choose User Data.

       6.      Configure the DBM operator and the standard database user.
DBM Operator:
If the database connection already exists, the
operator name selected during the installation is displayed. You can change this.
Enter and confirm your chosen
password.
Select
Central Authorization if you want to use central authorization of the user.
Standard Database User:
If the database connection already exists, the
user name selected during the installation is displayed. You can change this.
Enter and confirm your chosen
password.

       7.      Choose Connection ® Save.

Result

The names and passwords are converted to uppercase letters and encrypted by the SAP system.

The user data for the DBM operator is stored in the DBCONUSR table in the SAP system.
The user data for the standard database user is stored in the SAP table DBCON. If you make changes, the corresponding entries in the DBCONUSR or DBCON table in the SAP system are updated.

If the user data in the SAP system does not match the user data in the database instance, you must manually change the user data on the database instance, since saving the user data in the SAP system does not update the database instance data.

·        You can change the DBM operator using any client of the database manager (DBMCLI, DBMGUI, DBMRFC). For more information, see Database Manager GUI, Managing the Database Manager Operator, Database Manager CLI, Managing the Database Manager Operator).

·        You can change the standard database user on the database instance by using a query tool of your choice (such as SQL Studio, SQLCLI) and by using a corresponding SQL statement (such as ALTER PASSWORD to change the password), or you can change the user using the Database Manager GUI ( Managing Database Users).

If you have selected decentral authorization, you must also store the user data on every application server in the XUSER file. To do this, follow the procedure described in Central/Decentral Authorization.

A log entry is created in the system log of your SAP system (transaction SM21) that indicates that user data of the database instance has been changed.