Process Notification

Use

Put notification in process

Once you have created a notification and entered all relevant information, you can put the notification in process. When you put a notification in process, you release the notification for processing.

A notification can be put in process in the following ways:

  • You can put a notification in process manually.
  • The system puts a notification in process automatically if an order was created for the notification.

When a notification is put in process, the system changes the status of the notification from "outstanding" (OSNO) to "notification in process" (NOPR).

Postpone notification

In some cases, it may be necessary to delay the processing of a notification (for example, if the assigned tasks cannot be carried out yet).

Using this function, you can postpone the processing of a notification. When you postpone a notification, it receives the status NOPO (notification postponed).

You cannot postpone a notification that has already been put in process.

Complete notification

You complete a notification when the problem has been solved and no further processing is necessary. Once you complete a notification, you can no longer change any data in the notification. You can then only display the notification.

When a notification is completed, it receives the status NOCO (notification completed).

You cannot complete a notification if outstanding tasks still exist in the notification.

Categorizing a notification problem

When you complete a notification, the system displays a dialog box with the current date and time. You can accept the displayed date and time as the completion time or you can change it. In this dialog box, you must specify whether the problem arose because of an internal or external cause. For example, if a vendor delivers a defective product, your are dealing with an externally caused problem.

Put notification in process again

You can put a completed notification in process again, if you determine that additional processing is necessary.

Archive completed notification

Completed notifications are automatically archived and are deleted from the database after a specific, predefined time interval. This time interval is defined in Customizing. Therefore, make sure you have finished processing the notification before you complete it.

Delete notification

In some cases, you may want to delete a notification. You cannot, however, delete a notification directly. You must set a deletion flag in the notification which identifies it as one that can be deleted.

A company typically runs an archiving program at regular intervals. This program searches for the notifications with deletion flags, converts the deletion flags to deletion indicators, and copies the notifications to an archive. The system then deletes the notifications from the database.

Before you delete a notification, make sure that it is no longer needed.

Once you set a deletion flag for a notification, you can no longer change the data in the notification. It then receives the status Deletion flag and Completed. You can now only display the notification. For more information about notification statuses, see Status Management.

If you set a deletion flag in the notification header, the system also sets deletion flags for the individual notification tasks.

You can cancel the deletion flag as long as it has not been converted to a deletion indicator. You can then put the notification back in process and change or display it in the usual manner.

Procedure

Desired processing type

What you should know

Put notification in process

Call up the notification in the create or change mode and then choose Notification ® Functions ® Put in process.

Postpone notification

Call up the notification in the change mode, choose Notification ® Functions ® Postpone, and then save the notification.

Complete notification

Call up a notification in the change mode and choose Notification ® Functions ® Complete.

Specify the completion date/time and the cause of the problem; then close the dialog box and save the notification.

Delete notification

To set a deletion flag, call up the notification in change mode and then choose Notification ® Functions ® Deletion flag ® Set.

To reset the deletion flag, choose Notification ® Functions ® Deletion flag ® Deselect.