This BRBACKUP command option verifies the backup after the files have been backed up.
Input syntax: -w|-verify [use_dbv|only_dbv|only_conf]
Default: No verification.
This option can be used to make sure that the backup is readable and complete. Once the backup phase is complete, all the saved files are restored from the volume (for example, tape) in sequence, decompressed (when compress = yes was used), read by the check program, and compared with the originals. See also compress_dir.
During an offline backup, the file contents are compared in binary form. During an online backup, the sizes of the saved files are determined and checked.
See Log Supplements.
use_dbv: Database backup followed by a restoration to a temporary directory and a check of the Oracle block structure with the DBVERIFY tool.
only_dbv: Internal block structure check on the database files with DBVERIFY without backup.
only_conf: BRBACKUP calls the external backup utility only to confirm that the backup is known, not to verify the data.
Note that verification approximately doubles the backup time required.
For security reasons, we recommend using this option at least once within the volume expiration period for your complete backups, or still better, once a week. It enables you to detect any possible hardware problems and undertake the appropriate measures.