delete a data model

Proceed as follows to delete a data model:

  1. Enter the name of the data model to be deleted in the field Modeling object in the Data Modeler: Initial Screen.
  2. Select Data model under Selection.
  3. Click on Change.
  4. Select Data model ® Delete in the screen Change Data Model: Definition.
  5. In the pop-up window that appears, confirm that you wish to delete the data model.
  6. A list is displayed of any assignments (that is, objects assigned to the model) and/or references (that is, the data model is itself assigned to one or more data models) that may exist for the data model. The remaining procedure varies according to whether assignments and/or references exist:

Only assignments

If only assignments exist, click on the Delete pushbutton in the screen Change Data Model: Definition if you want to delete the data model and its assignments. The system returns you to the input screen and issues an appropriate success message.

If only assignments exist, click on the Delete pushbutton in the screen Change Data Model: Definition if you want to delete the data model and its assignments. The system returns you to the input screen and issues an appropriate success message.

Only references

If only references exist for the data model, these must all be deleted first.

To delete a reference, double-click on the name of the superordinate data model in the list. The screen Change Data Model: Hierarchy appears. In this screen you can remove the data model to be deleted from the hierarchy. Position the cursor on the data model to be deleted and select Modeling object ® Delete assignment. Return to the list with Back.

Once the last reference has been deleted, the data model itself is deleted. You return to the screen you started from.

Assignments and references

First, only the references which you have to delete are displayed (see References exist).

When you return to the list, the assignments are also displayed. These will be deleted when you delete the data model. Click on Delete if you wish to delete the data model and its assignments.

When deleting references, you might find that a superordinate data model is locked by another user. If so, you will need to contact this user and link your tasks by means of a common change request. (For more details, please read the Workbench Organizer documentation.)