Control and Check Processes (Menu Option Process)

Use

You can use this function to:

·        Cancel a process (with or without core)

·        Activate/deactivate the restart option after an error

·        Execute various functions for the process trace

Prerequisites

You are already in the Process Overview (Transaction SM50) and have selected a work process using your cursor.

Features

The following functions are available in the Process menu:

Functions for Process Monitoring and Administration

Path in Process Menu

Function

Detail

Displays detailed information on the selected process (can also be accessed by double-clicking a process line, or by choosing  Detail).

Cancel with Core

Cancels the work process. A core file is created, which you can view in transaction ST11.

Cancel Without Core

Cancels a work process, and a core file is not written.

Restart After Error  ® Yes/No

You can specify whether a process should be restarted automatically after an error has occurred. The default is Yes.

Trace ® Active Components

You can specify which kernel components write trace information to the trace file and the trace level for logging (0: No trace, 1: Only trace errors, 2: Complete trace, 3: Complete trace with buffers). Only the task handler component is set as the active default, and the trace level is 1.

Trace ® ?Display Setting

There are 2 options under this option, Loading components and Display components. These options are useful for very large trace files where all or many of the components were active. Loading components lets you choose which components are loaded in the file; Display components lets you further limit the display. The Display components are part of the loading components. By default, the loading components are displayed.

Trace ® Display File

This displays the trace file for a selected work process.

Trace ® Save File Locally

With this funvtion you can download one or more trace files to your local PC. For more information, see Saving Trace Files Locally.

Trace ® Reset

Here you can reset the trace files: You can choose whether you want to reset All Files or only the Work Process Files. All files mean all dev* files on this server. They include the traces from the gateway, dispatcher, ICM, RFC, and so on, as well as the work process traces.

After the trace files have been reset, the information contained in them is lost and cannot be retrieved.

Trace ® Dispatcher

Here you can set the trace level for the trace file of the dispatcher dev_disp, view the file, or save it locally, see Save Locally.

See also:

For more information on trace files, see Developer Traces.