Setting Up Object Types

Under Object Types, you select which object types are to be transferred between Microsoft Project and the Project System (PS) and make settings related to costs and scheduling. The object types are:

Ў        WBS milestones

Ў        Activities

Ў        Activity milestones

Ў        Relationships

Ў        Resources/work center

This means that you can filter information, for example, if you require outline information in PS you can only transfer the WBS elements, but not the activities and associated objects.

You can also make the following settings:

·        Download actuals: You can download actual data from PS to Microsoft Project. If you set the indicator for downloading actual data, the actual data is downloaded when a project is downloaded.

·        Cost information: You can make settings for the download of cost information. If the server supports the download of cost information, the user can make the appropriate setting for downloading costs:

Ў        If Always Download Costs is selected, the cost information is always downloaded when downloading a PS project to Microsoft Project.

Ў        If Never Download Costs is selected, the cost information is never downloaded.

Ў        If Always Ask Before Downloading is selected, then every time a PS project is downloaded from PS to Microsoft Project, a dialog box appears asking the user whether the cost information needs to be downloaded.

·        Automatic Cost Calculation: The value of this indicator applies to all networks created during the same upload session from PS to Microsoft Project. You cannot modify this indicator for existing networks; that is, while updating a network that exists in PS, the value set for this indicator has no effect on this network.

Selecting this indicator can have a negative effect on system performance.

·        Transferring Scheduling Information: To transfer scheduling information, such as dates, you must select this indicator.

·        Schedule Automatically: The value of this indicator also applies to all networks created during the same upload session from Microsoft Project to PS. You cannot modify this indicator for existing networks; that is, while updating a network that exists in PS, the value set for this indicator has no effect on this network.

Selecting this indicator can have a negative effect on system performance.